Why does the customer not receive a refund after an authorized transaction is now 'Cancelled' or 'Expired'?

Last updated: November 19th, 2020

Authorized transactions are NOT refunded as authorization simply 'holds' the specified amount with the customer's issuing bank.

A refund is needed when the transaction is captured and settled which means funds moved out of the customer's bank account to Paymentwall. Once this authorization expires or is canceled by the merchant, the issuing bank automatically releases these funds back to the shopper. This process can take up to a week in some cases and for further information, the customer must reach out to their issuing bank.

If you still have a question, we’re here to help.Contact us